Newly diagnosised help

Hi I have just been diagnosed with two grade 1 lumps in one breast. I have got to have a sentinel lymph node biopsy , what is the recovery time of this? I also need a masectomy and reconstruction , I am unsure of which option to choose regarding having an implant or my own tissue as that’s a bigger operation and what recovery is like. any info gratefully received.
Thanks

Hi Trace, sorry to hear of your diagnosis. When I was disgnosed I had a mastectomy with immediate reconstruction and he did the sentinel node biopsy at the same time, going through the same cut so I only have one scar. I chose to have the reconstruction using strattice mesh (pigskin) to support the implant as it was all done in one operation. It carries a higher risk of rejection but it was ok for me. I was off work for 8.5 wks and then went back on a phased return.(I’m a part time primary teacher). I’m nearly a year on now and still have some stiffness under that arm and have to be careful not to lift anything too heavy but apart from that it’s fine. I think that option works best if they think you don’t need further treatment as radiotherapy can damage the implant , My sentinel node was clear so I am on tamoxifen for 5 years but no other treatment. 

Pat my hospital they had a file of photos of the different procedures and what the results looked like which was helpful. I am only small busted but the match is pretty good on mine apart from the fact that the foob is less droopy!  Good luck with your decision! Nic xx

Hi Trace,

I am sorry you are going through this difficult time. It is great to see the support you are already getting on this thread and I am sure users will continue to share their experiences.

In the meantime you may also want to try looking at and posting on some of our busySurgery board threads where you will be able to find more information and support.

Best wishes, 

Lizzy 

Digital Community Assistant