Positive Thinking

I’ve found positive thinking and visualisation of great benefit. I think one of the most frightening things about diagnosis is that feeling of lack of control. I am an ex Psychology teacher and in my initial panic I disregarded everything that I’d ever learned about the power of the mind. Oddly, a programme on Derren Brown on television brought me back to my senses as he shows what amazing things can be done. I strongly believe that our own mind can really cure - think of the placebo effect. Before my lumpectomy and primary lymph node removal I used this technique every day and am convinced that my subsequent results (clear around the lumpectomy & nothing in the lymph node) were because of this. Additionally, although not a religious person, I prayed to St Winifred of Holywell - a saint near me who performs miracles (it’s surprising how suddenly we clutch at religion when really scared!) My sister had been to St Winifred’s Well some years ago & found that her knee was miraculously cured & the problem never returned. I was unable to get to the Well, but prayed anyway and again I’m certain that St Winifred heard and assisted. This also calmed me when I was in a blind panic. So, I’d advise positive thinking and whatever else you believe - along with the medical treatment, of course!