tumour still growing during chemo-worried!!

Hi everyone I’m a newbie to this site and am posting to see if anyone has advice or the same issues as me.Was diagnosed 19th Aug with stage 3 breast ca am having neo adjuvant chemo to shrink the tumour had my second FEC last wed and I don’t notice any shrinkage at all in fact its turned from a small 2.5cm lump into a large mass in my breast and there are also shooting pains coming from it!.Im so worried they have me on the wrong regimen as I wouldn’t expect it to be still growing?Any advice would be appreciated thanks!

Hello Michy

Sorry to hear of your recent diagnosis,  you’ll find great support on this site. I am also on neo adjuvant regime (4 x EC & 4x Taxol) since July to shrink a 4cm lump.  So far there is no changes in the size of it, however the shape of it has changed. Feels like its expanded and moved more inside the breast tissues,  but measurement still the same.  You should be given an ultrasound sound every other cycle to check it’s progress.  EC didn’t work for me so after 3 cycles I was put on Taxol, but after 2 cycles it doesn’t looks like it has made any difference. I will find out next week whether we carry on with chemo.  There are lots of positive stories about the success of neo adjuvant treatment on this site too, so don’t lose hope!

Good luck, hope yours will be a success. 

Best,

Mahsa

Thanks Masha that sounds exactly like mine its changed shape and is deeper into the breast. I don’t get a scan till after my 3rd chemo I just worry about wasting time on the wrong regimen…I suppose I hope it would start to feel like its shrinking by now:(

Hello ladies,