which cells does radiotherapy kill

i am having radiotherapy. Not worried about it, onc says it kills the fast growing cells and does not harm my breast because they are slow growing ones.

so i have been happily thinking that we cut a lot out and this radiation treatment is going to clear my breast of any remaining cancer.

But i have lots of different types of cancer in my breast at different stages. Does this mean that the radiation only kills the more agressive stage 3 cells that are growing quicker and will leave the slower growing and precancerous ones alone?

O&L, obviously I’m not an expert, but I think I’m right in saying that ALL cancer cells are fast growing when you compare them to our normal tissue cells. So even the slower growing and precancerous cells grow quicker than your normal breast tissue cells.

thats a relief then.

i think radiotherapy blasts everything in its path, but kills the bad cells and the normal ones recover… i had some back pain after my rads and when i told my onc , he said the radiotherapy gets everything and i was just healing afterwards

thanks for bringing that subject up OAL. have been thinking about it myself. i had idc,1.5cm, wle , thankfully clear nodes. 20 rads then 5 boosts. finished 3 wks ago. (and tam 4 5 yrs). i feel great, boob skin all healed up nicely. cant even see the square that was zapped now. my skin and scar are fab cos im sure of the moisturising i did a zillion tmes a day. good luck 2 all! alex xxx

I think I read somewhere that the radiotherapy damages the DNA of the cells, and where normal cells are able to repair themselves the cancer ones aren’t so they cannot reproduce and die off while the normal cells recover and reproduce normally.

Jen

I also did a bit of research and found the same info as squeak did. That’s why we have a series of rads treatments on consecutive days over several weeks, by the end of it the cancer cells have had enough (hopefully)!