Hi

Hi all
I am new to all of this and greatfull to find this group
I have idc and I go for lumpectomy on Monday , 37 years old and scared as all my children are girls , also I know I’m negative for two area but can’t remeber what , or what it means and haven’t even had the courage to ask for a grade
Also could I ask does anyone else lump feel twice as big if there atm is raised

Kateday

Hello and welcome to the forum.  Its not a place any of us would want to be but one thing is for sure you will get loads of help and support from the wonderful ladies on here.

The trouble is that we know we have a lump and all of a sudden our mind focuses on the size of it, it probably has not grown at all since you were diagnosed however it just seems to have.

You might have been gven a sheet with your initial diagnosis on which will have the information you say regarding the negative areas and also your grading, but I would not worry about that at the moment, just concentrate on getting the other side of your op on Monday.

Come on here whenever you need and there will always be someone on here to talk to even in the wee small hours.

Sending you hugs

Helena xxx

Hi Kate,
Sorry to see you here, but glad you found us.
Yes, it is scary & a shock when first diagnosed, so it is hard to take in, we’ve all been there.
If you’re negative for 2 areas, it probably means your bc is positive for oestrogen (er+), meaning that your bc is stimulated to grow by oestrogen. It is the most common diagnosis & most of us are er+. Do ask your bcn to explain it to you.
The other areas tested are for progesterone (pr) & Her2, both of which can cause a bc to grow.
It wont be long until you get to grips with it all, it will become clearer & once your treatment plan is in place, it does feel better & we feel more in control again.