Bullying and people leaving

I have been using this site for many years but of late I am getting quite distressed about a small minority of posters.

There have always been forceful characters on the site.This has resulted in lively debate which has sometimes needed reigning in by moderators.Fair enough. I am all in agreement with the guidelines if applied equally and fairly.

I am all for debate but not indoctrination. Some people like to weigh up both sides and not be ridiculed for taking their own path.

Once again, a thoughtful, informative poster has had to take the decsision to leave the site. She is not the first to do so as a result of behaviour that is aggressive, bullying and patronising.
I myself have been at their mercy of this few and believe me it feels very personal.
If this minority get reported little happens but others get their posts deleted. I understand that moderators cannot read every post of every thread but this pattern surely cannot continue.I have the greatest respect for the moderators but this feels all wrong.

I have a secondary diagnosis and do not know what I would do without this site. Just lately I am starting to think I may have to find out…:frowning:

Julie

Hi Julie

I want to respond to your post as clearly it is a serious matter when people are feeling distressed, as you describe.

Firstly, I want to remind people that the community guidelines cover both how people should post in the first place (e.g. “be kind”) and ALSO how people should respond to posts that they think contravene the community guidelines.

This is the passage from the guidelines I’m referring to: