Recently diagnosed with BC and terrified...

This is my first time here… Not really sure what to say… I I was diagnosed with BC on 24 November and I still feel like I have been hit by a bus. I have my op on Tuesday afternoon and I am finding it hard to cope with the anxiety…  Although I have family and friends close by I live alone.  My head is thumping and I have aches and pains all over my body, neck, back,  arms…itchy skin… I am sure it’s the anxiety but I am terrified… Can anyone help please? 

Hello AnnCann,

I’m so sorry you find yourself on here but you are in good company. It is utterly shocking to get that news but it’s good that you are going to be treated. You will find the early weeks waiting for test results etc. very hard. We all do but everything will be done to get you better. It is so common to feel all these aches and pains - it is all stress related. As soon as you have a treatment plan you will feel much calmer and you will find that these symptoms will magically disappear. I promise it will get better. I didn’t believe it myself but it’s true. You can come on here and ask anything or say anything - we are all here to help and support you. Try not to worry (although I know you will), you will get through this. Sending you a hug and let us know how you are doing when you feel able.  Best wishes xx Lily

Hi anncann
I was diagnosed with bc on the 4th November and had my op wle sentinel node biopsy and reconstruction last Thursday. .yours is very quick from diagnosis to operation…I’ve been struggling also trying not to think about it to be fair…pop on here anytime there’s plenty of us in the same position