Songs/music

There’s been a couple of songs that I’ve played a lot since being diagnosed that have helpd me. I just wondered if anyone else has found this and, if so, what songs?

On the day I was dx’d, I went back to sit in a waiting area and the background music playing was Shirley Bassey’s “Get the party started”. It seemed rather inappropriate at the time and I can’t hear it now without getting a bit emotional but then I started playing it when I feeling wound up over waiting for my surgery. “Get the party started” came to mean “Get on with it and let me get back to my life” and “Everyone’s waiting for me” was all the medical and surgical staff preparing for my arrival. I’d play it especially when waiting to leave for pre-op and op appointments and it would feel like a ‘get on with it, I’m ready for you’ sort of song.

Another song was Anastacia’s “I’m outta love”. It sounds a bit depressing but the words “Set me free, let me out this misery” kind of reflected how I felt and helped me get some of those feelings out of my system. “You can’t handle me” was about fighting back as well.