What the hell does 'hypoechoic' mean??

Hi all, OK here I am, dx March 2009, aged 29. Finished chemo in September, rads in November. First mammogram comes back clear in January then last month I find a pretty big hard lump in same breast but different side. Go see surgeon fully expecting him to say “go away neurotic girl, it’s a rib.” But instead he says, “hmmmm do you mind if we put a needle in it?” Erm, no go for your life. Getting results from FNA tomorrow but in the meantime, he ccs me into a letter to my GP which says the ultrasound has shown up “an hypoechoic area for which there is no obvious explanation”. wtf? Am pretty sure it’s just some weird cysty thing but does anyone know what hypoechoic means or has had a similar experience? It;s never-ending is it …?

Hi
I’m no expert but here is a link I found
wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_a_hypoechoic_nodule_in_the_breast_area
All the very best to you
Love Maria

Hi i’ve also had a quick look on the web and just wanted to mention there is something else with a very similar name which is often a tumour… i thought i would just warn you in case anyone you mention this too tells you that means it is a tumour… (so the first one gets strong echoes from an US and the second - the type your letter mentions gets weak echoes…)

Hyperechoic
Structures are said to be hyperechoic when strong echoes are reflected from their internal contents. In some contexts, hyperechoic may to refer to areas which produce stronger reflections than might be expected for that type of tissue. They produce the more white or bright parts of an image.

Hypoechoic
Structures are said to be hypoechoic when only low-level echoes are reflected from their internal contents, producing the darker grey areas of the image. In some contexts, hypoechoic may refer to areas which produce weaker reflections than might be expected for that type of tissue. Areas in shadow (q.v.) could be described as hypoechoic.